Main >> Information >> All About Tea >> Classification of Teas


The tea plant is botanically classified as a related family of tea (Theaceae), to a sort Chai (Tea) and its morphological features is divided into two types: Chinese (Thea Sinensis) and Assamese (Thea Assamica).

By technology of production tea is divided into:
  not soluble teas - black, green, yellow, red and Puer - which are subdivided into:
  leaf (orthodox), granulated (CTC), pressed:
  leaf (orthodox) tea by the size of tea leaves are divided into:
   whole leaf, broken, fannings, dust

▪  Granulated tea the size of tea leaves are divided into: broken, fannings, dust

▪    Instant (soluble)  teas - which are divided into:
           liquid concentrates, dry powders, aglomerated and sublimated.